Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Williamsburg Area Reading Council's Reading Teacher of the Year!

    On February 27th, The Williamsburg Area Reading Council held a reception to recognize the WARC Reading Teacher of the Year nominees, as well as hand out the award to this year's winner. There was a fantastic turnout to help honor these wonderful educators! All of the nominees were given the opportunity to select a picture book which was donated to their school library with a name plate in honor of their nominations. This year's WARC Reading Teacher of the Year was Mrs. Leslie Goldhardt, a first grade teacher at J.B. Blayton Elementary in the WJCC Public School Division. Mrs. Goldhardt also represented WARC at the state level Teacher of the Year Competition with the Virginia State Reading Association. 

(From left to right) Sarah Litchel, WARC Treasurer, presented this year's Reading Teacher of the Year, Leslie Goldhardt, with a check for $250. Dr. Denise Johnson is holding the presentation platter which was also awarded to Mrs. Goldhardt.
(From left to right) The nominees for the 2013-14 WARC Reading Teacher of the Year honor: Sue Scherling (recently retired Reading Recovery teacher/Matthew Whaley), Susan Alis (second grade teacher/Matthew Whaley), Leslie Goldhardt (first grade teacher/J.B. Blayton), and Kelly Parsons (second grade teacher/Norge).

     Please consider honoring one of your colleagues with a nomination next fall for the 2014-15 WARC Teacher of the Year Award. Be sure to follow WARC on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WARCouncil and on Twitter: https://twitter.com/WARCReading for the most current updates and exciting news in the world of reading!